Interpretations Committee

The Interpretations Committee assists the MASB in ensuring and promoting high quality accounting practices in the country. Recommendations and decisions of the Interpretations Committee are submitted to the Board who will decide on the appropriate course of action. The Interpretations Committee is chaired by the MASB Chairman and is responsible to:


review and undertake detailed study of the matters under the IFRS Interpretations Committee having regard to:

  • statutory and regulatory reporting requirements;
  •  interpretations of IFRSs;
  • current studies/projects undertaken by the IASB relating to the topic;
  • accounting standards and practice in other major standard setting jurisdictions.

review comments received on the draft pronouncement issued by the IASB or the IFRS Interpretations Committee and prepare a summary of the comments for review by the MASB.


submit its recommendation on the adoption or otherwise of the narrow scope amendment and IFRIC Interpretation.

Matters under the IFRS Interpretations Committee include:

(i)      IFRIC® Interpretation.

(ii)     proposed amendments to standards through the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) Annual Improvements process.

(iii)    proposals to the IASB for targeted, narrow-scope amendments that are beyond the scope of the Annual Improvements process.

(iv)    proposals for additional illustrative examples.

(v)     explanations via rejection notices. 

The Committee comprises representatives from the accounting profession, commerce, the academia as well as an analyst and a solicitor. The members of the Interpretations Committee are appointed by the Board. The members are:

  • Mr Ng Kim Tuck (MICPA, Representative)
  • Mr Cheong Thoong Farn (Partner, Deloitte KassimChan)
  • Mr Thong Foo Vung (Partner, KPMG)
  • Mr Yap Seng Chong (Partner, Ernst & Young)
  • Ms Siew Kar Wai (Partner, PwC)
  • Mr Tang Seng Choon (Partner, BDO)
  • Encik Jalalullail Othman (Partner, Shook Lin & Bok)
  • Mr Chong Kin Leong (Chief Finance Officer, Genting Berhad)
  • Ms Ho Say Keng (Company Secretary, YTL Corporation Berhad)
  • Mr. Kevin Lim Chong Yeow (Head of Consumer & Industrial Ratings, RAM Rating Services Berhad)
  • Mr Chua Siam Keong (Manager, Sime Darby Berhad)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr Fatima Abdul Hamid (Head of Research, International Islamic University Malaysia)

Observer representatives from:

  • Malaysian Institute of Accountants
  • Securities Commission
  • Bank Negara Malaysia
  • Suruhanjaya Syarikat Malaysia
  • Bursa Malaysia Berhad